How to Find Out If Your iPhone Number Has Been Blocked
What are the signs that your phone number has been blocked? While there is no way to know for sure without asking the person, there are a few telltale signs that can help. We’ll go over everything from iMessage Not Delivered errors to calls going straight to voicemail, as well as how to tell if your phone number has been blocked. Let’s get this party started.
5 Quick Ways to Find Out If Someone Has Blocked You on iPhone
These methods can be combined to help you figure out if you’ve been blocked or if the person is simply unavailable, out of service range, or on Do Not Disturb. Please keep in mind that, while these methods can provide useful information (especially when used together), there is no foolproof way to determine whether or not someone has blocked you on your iPhone. Let’s get this party started, shall we?
1. Did you receive an automated response? On iPhone, it’s not blocked!
The first method for determining whether or not someone has blocked your phone number is simple. If you get an automated response to a message you sent (as you might if someone is in Do Not Disturb mode), that’s great! Those auto-generated text responses don’t go through to numbers that have been blocked on iPhones, so you’re not blocked.
Watch for an iMessage Not Delivered notification if you don’t get an obvious automated response (or any response, for that matter). Continue reading to find out how to tell if someone on iMessage has blocked you.
2. Didn’t Get Your iPhone Message? How to Figure Out If Someone on iMessage Has Blocked You
What are the signs that someone on iMessage has blocked you? On the iPhone, you can’t block texts without also blocking the person’s calls, so that’s something to keep in mind right away. You will be blocked on both if you are blocked on one. You can still text the person in question using iMessage, but they won’t receive the message or any notification of a text received, just like they won’t receive your phone calls.
Here’s how to figure out if you’ve been blocked on iMessage:
You won’t see “Delivered” below the text bubble if an iPhone message isn’t delivered (as it would be if you’re blocked). Keep going now
Before you assume you’ve been blocked, look beneath the last text you sent. It’s possible that you’ve been blocked if the previous iMessage says “Delivered” under the message bubble but the most recent one doesn’t.
Another indication could be an iMessage Not Delivered error. If this occurs, you should try the trick described in the following section.
3. Text Message Notifications & iMessage Not Delivered Error
Another good way to figure out if someone has blocked your phone number from texting them is to use the following method: If you get the iMessage Not Delivered error on your iPhone, try enabling SMS texts.
If an iPhone message is not delivered via iMessage, your device will retry the text using your cellular plan, or you can manually retry with SMS instead of iMessage. Another sign that you’ve been blocked on an iPhone is if you don’t get a response or a delivery confirmation to your SMS message.
After an iMessage Not Delivered error, manually resend a text via SMS:
- See the attempted text and click the red info icon to get more information.
- Select Send as Text Message from the drop-down menu.
- Your device will try to send the text again.
4. Is It Do Not Disturb or Blocked Number on iPhone?
So you’ve tried the methods above, but you’re thinking the person may have simply turned off all incoming calls and texts, which is why they’re not receiving your messages. In this case, you’ll need to figure out how to tell if someone has blocked your phone number or if they’re simply on Do Not Disturb.
To see how much of a difference there was, I had my friend set her iPhone to Do Not Disturb for one text and then block me for another. I received a delivery notification right away when I texted her while she was on Do Not Disturb, despite the fact that she didn’t receive the text until after she turned off Do Not Disturb.
My text appeared to have been sent for the blocked iMessage, but I didn’t receive any kind of confirmation; it just sat there. As a result, I’ve come to the conclusion that if someone has Do Not Disturb mode turned on, you’ll still get delivery notifications for your messages, but not if you’ve been blocked.
5. When you make a phone call on your iPhone, it automatically goes to voicemail.
Making a phone call can help you figure out if someone has blocked you on your iPhone. However, because there are a variety of reasons why a call you make from your phone rings once and goes straight to voicemail, it’s best to combine this step with the iMessage test to be sure you’ve been blocked.
Note: Unless it’s an emergency, we recommend waiting a few hours after the iMessage Not Delivered test before calling your friend or family member, just in case they’re temporarily out of their cellular service area or otherwise unable to respond.
If you decide to call because your text hasn’t been answered after a few hours, here’s how to figure out if it is.
I asked my sister to block my phone number for this trial, and this is what I found out. The phone rang, but only for a fraction of a second before connecting to voicemail. I was able to leave a message, just like any other unblocked call, but it was stored in a separate section of her iPhone’s voicemail called Blocked Messages. There was no way for her to know I’d called while I was blocked, and there was no notification to either her or me about the blocked voicemail.
When I’ve tried the iMessage steps and then called, their phone rings once and goes straight to voicemail, I know I’m almost certainly blocked.
What to Do If You’ve Been Blocked
While there are a variety of reasons why a phone number may be blocked, emergencies do occur, and users may need to contact someone who has previously blocked their phone number. This is a tricky situation, so only use this tip if you’re in a true emergency. Contacting someone who has stated that they do not want you to contact them can have legal consequences! We strongly encourage users to respect others’ privacy, and we will not be held liable for their actions.
If you truly need to contact the person who has blocked your number, you can use *67 to hide your caller ID. This will hide your phone number while still allowing the call to go through; it will appear as No Caller ID or something similar. Many users will still decline the call, but your caller ID will be hidden. Note that depending on your carrier’s settings, this may or may not work, but it is a viable option in an emergency.
You’ll be able to tell whether your number has been blocked or not with reasonable certainty now that you know what to look for in your texts and calls. If this has happened to you, hopefully, the situation has been resolved.
ALSO, READ MORE POSTS ON :